Now and at the Hour of Our Death

Today I cried and grieved for a girl I barely knew.

She was a good friend and colleague of B.

I told myself I had no real reason to cry…that I was just being emotional. I knew I was a cry-baby, and that the littlest things would trigger tears instantly. But their pain… I could feel their pain, and their loss. I couldn’t get over the shock, the resounding thought that Life is so unfair. The fact that she’s gone, just like that.

A daughter was lost. A sister was lost. A friend was lost. I couldn’t imagine experiencing all those at the moment. It just hurt so much.

Going through today was life-changing. I’m just happy to be alive. That incident was so random, so tragic, almost close to home. I couldn’t believe I just saw her last year in uni. I couldn’t believe she was only 21. I couldn’t believe that she was just a few months away from graduating from post-grad studies.

I was hit with the realization… a fact that we take for granted most of the time because we feel we are invincible…Life is short. Life can end any time… when we least expect it.  And in the end, the only thing that will matter is how you’ve touched the lives of people around you. Your memory lives on. So we must make the most out of everyday. Live with as little regrets as possible. Leave smiles and good vibes. Hug everyone…

We weren’t really friends… but she had an impact. Now I just want to let everybody know how much I love and appreciate you all. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I know this is just the emotional, sentimental side of me showing right now (combined with that time of the month, and we get twice as much as hormones). But we never know. We never know.

So if you’re reading this…

I miss you.

Thank you.

Let’s hang out?

Let’s talk?

I’m sorry.

I’m so sorry.

I would never have gone through all the hard times without you.

Thank you for being there for me…always.

Take care. Please.

I love you.

__________________________

And for you:

Eternal rest grant unto thee, O Lord, and let Your eternal light shine upon her. May she rest in peace.

Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

