This is not Pop-Psychology

When I was young(er) and fairly innocent, I used to search up fun and quirky quizzes on the web- the types where you answer some random questions and they’d come up with  a simple, yet really neat description about who you are really, what your name means, what kind of boyfriend you’d most likely have, what color is your aura, etc. etc.

Most of the descriptions held a grain of truth. Others, were coincidentally spot on. Say for example, a quiz on Blogthings can show you different ways of doodling a heart, and your only task is to pick the heart that would most likely match the way you’d draw it. Upon debating and deciding which heart I’d most likely doodle (I won’t tell you which one), Blogthings tells me that:

“If your heart has been broken, you are over it. Your heart has no scars.
Your heart is open to anything. You have a lot of love to give to the world. “

Yup, all that from picking one of four computerized hearts. I must say the first line really did suit me. But I’m pretty dubious about my heart being open to anything (in fact, this is probably the opposite. I tend to be very conservative at times. Except when it comes to Adam Lambert and homosexuality). The descriptions they give though are pretty flattering and there used to be a time when my friends and I shared the results we got. We’d copy-paste them over our chat boxes, and gush over how accurate they were.

You won’t believe how many things I’ve learned about myself just by identifying my birthday, birth order, nick name, gender, star sign, favorite nature element, color of my eyes, length of my hair, ETC.

But I guess all these online quizzes became so popular, because deep down, we’re all everyday Psychologists eager to find out more about ourselves and other people. We have this natural tendency to seek meaning in life.

This is how I fell in love with Psychology.

I’ve always been a people-person. Technical things turned me off (although admittedly, there are some aspects of Psychology that are highly technical, like Cognitive Psychology). I love learning about why people behave the way they do, why certain things make us feel this particular emotion, and how memories are formed and retained.

It’s not an easy path. I’m still getting used to the whole research processes and methodology. But I really wish that someday, have my own ground-breaking discovery! Until then…

I’ll be sitting in lectures, writing down notes, reading, researching and reading some more…

 

One thought on “This is not Pop-Psychology

  1. Pingback: Musings of my past self on why I love Psychology. | Brain Breaking

Leave a Reply

