Standing Up.

Elections are coming up, and today I’ve realized that I needed to do some self-reflection in order to be clear on my decision. What are my values? What do I stand for? What do I believe in?

I stand for Social Justice. For fairness and equality. I honor hard work. I believe that everyone deserves a chance at a good future, that everyone deserves the support and the encouragement that they need to get through.

I do not believe in sacrificing the welfare of others, in order to bring progress to a few.

I believe in prevention, in resolving an issue before it becomes a full blown problem. I believe in treating the main cause, not the symptoms.

I believe that as a community, we all have the responsibility to give and to care for one another, to help one another. We have the responsibility to look after each other, not to trample one another just to allow a fortunate minority to become better off.

People will aspire if given a chance. In reality, some may choose not to, but at least they had the option. Removing benefits completely is like taking away a wheel chair from a person who is already crippled. How on earth will he be able to move?

Will you make him crawl?

I know I have no power to convince anyone. This post is more for myself, than anyone else actually. I needed to have my own opinion. Tonight, I set out reading learning about my options, and now I am certain that I am making the right choice.

It’s their values that got me.

Leave a Reply

