My Trip to India 2: Things to Eat and See!

Hi there! So for the second installment of My Trip to India, I’ve decided to write a little about all the places I’ve been to, and everything that I ate! If you’ve missed out on the first post, you can click here to have a look at all the amazing colors that paint the streets of India. This post might be a bit long as I will be covering what I ate and saw in Mumbai, Delhi, and Agra, but I hope you enjoy it anyway!

Our first stop was Mumbai. As I’ve written about before, I enjoyed haggling and shopping in Bandra and Colaba Causeway. We also had a day to tour the city and although it was short, we were able to visit some interesting places and famous tourist spots.

But first, breakfast. We stayed in a place called the Bawa Hotel Suites, and while it looked incredibly small at first (with an elevator that can seriously trigger a claustrophobic episode), it was very clean and comfortable. I actually missed the place when we left. I missed their breakfasts, however simple they may be. Being greeted by a spicy meal at the start of the day is sure to wake you up. For the life of me, I couldn’t remember what they were called, but I loved mixing the green paste with the white one, and dipping the savory pancake-like pastry in it (the triangular one). After I’ve had my fill of savory and spicy food, I would then make toast and spread some gloriously delicious Amul butter with fruit jam. It was lovely.

P1030125

I really enjoyed the coffee in India too. I don’t know if it’s the milk or something, but it was different (and delicious).

P1030711

The cramped elevator (camouflaged as part of the hotel's walls from the outside!)

The cramped elevator (camouflaged as part of the hotel’s walls from the outside!)

Now on to the day trip!

Bandra Worli Sea Link Bridge

Bandra Worli Sea Link Bridge

We were able to visit the place where Mahatma Gandhi used to live. The house was well-preserved and it always amazes me to be able to walk the same steps that a historic figure once took!

P1030244

P1030245

Louis trying to capture some of Gandhi's wisdom!

Louis trying to capture some of Gandhi’s wisdom!

They even had mini-doll displays which told the story of how Gandhi became… well, Gandhi. The dolls and each scene were all so very detailed and meticulously crafted. I could almost feel the emotion in each display!

P1030256P1030260

After that, we headed off to see the Taj Mahal Hotel and the Gateway of India. I learned that the gateway of India was built to commemorate the visit of a British King and Queen to India. How grand!

P1030320

The Taj Mahal Hotel

The Gateway of India

The Gateway of India

I think it was around this time when we headed off for some lunch. We ate at a favorite spot of tourists and locals called the Leopold Cafe. True enough, it was very busy when we got there and we were lucky that a table had just cleared up! We ordered curries (butter chicken included) which were deliciously spicy, some naan bread, and I tried out the mango lassi too.

Curry

Curry

Curry is not complete of course, without some naan!

Curry is not complete of course, without some naan!

Cold, Mango Lassi

Cold, Mango Lassi

When it was time to head back, we were able to see what the tour guide said was a floating temple from afar. Too bad we weren’t able to set foot in it! P1030342

We were all tired from walking when we got back to the hotel, so guess what, we ordered some McDonald’s! This was especially exciting for me as I couldn’t wait to try out the *drum rolls* Maharaja Mac! It was good! Curry in a burger amuses me and my tummy any day!

Chicken Maharaja Mac!

Chicken Maharaja Mac!

And now, to spoil you with more food, we had the Mendhi celebration the next day (which was like the Indian’s version of the hen party). The groom’s family had hosted the celebration and they had prepared delicious, home cooked finger foods! I can’t remember what the diamond-shaped pieces were called, but they had silver food coloring and were sweet! If anyone out there knows, comment below! 🙂

P1030176

These samosas were very delicious too… at first I thought I was already getting used to the spiciness of everything, and I even felt proud! Halfway through, my mouth was suddenly on fire and funnily enough, I just wanted to keep eating it! Mmm, it definitely was a crunchy and tasty snack!

I miss this already.

I miss this already.

The wedding day couldn’t come soon enough! We had an early start as we headed off to the Renaissance Hotel for the wedding prep. Our party came in early, and because of that, we were able to access the breakfast buffet, and I was super excited (I love breakfast food)!! Just look at this open kitchen! And all those delectable pastries! I guess here we see some of the Western influences. I think I mostly stuffed myself with these sweet and buttery goodness! With coffee, of course!

Pastries <3 <3 <3

Pastries

…And some sausages and hash to even out the sweetness!

P1030369

And here’s a sneak peak of the wedding cake! It tasted as good as it looked!

P1030498

Now we fly off to Delhi, the capital. Honestly, I was a bit intimidated by Delhi because of its reputation as one of the crime capitals of the world. Nevertheless, it was bustling with life and culture, albeit sharper and more in your face.

Noisy Delhi

Noisy Delhi

Here’s a photo of one of our friends trying to steer away from a street vendor!

No shoes, bags, or ties, thank you!

No shoes, bags, or ties, thank you!

That night, we chilled on the roof top of our new hotel. Even during the evenings, we could hear the hustle and bustle of the locals, screaming children, honking cars, and barking dogs. It was still a good night, though.

P1030554

It was here that I got to try one of the local beers!

P1030561

We were up early again the next day to make our trip to Agra. And Agra was messier and wilder than Delhi! You could see monkeys climbing on roofs and clothes lines, cows crossing the roads every now and then, people selling fruits, vegetables, etc., and an endless stream of vehicles!

P1030574

P1030696

P1030568

The long (and quite annoying) drive to and from Delhi was worth it though, because we were able to see for ourselves the magnificent Taj Mahal! I was breathless when I saw it, and I shook a little as we approached it. I couldn’t believe I was seeing greatness with my own eyes!

A lot of people probably have the same shot...but this one is my own!

A lot of people probably have the same shot…but this one is my own!

I loved starring at the walls of the Taj!

I loved gazing at the walls of the Taj!

with the lovely dome of the Taj.

Selfie with one of the 7 wonders of the world!

We flew back to Mumbai before going home, and on our last night, Louis and I decided to have an all-out vegetarian curry dinner (which was what we should have done in the first place! When in India, go vegetarian!). Both the curries were hot, creamy, rich and really flavorful! It definitely made our last meal in Mumbai quite memorable!

P1030707

Cheese and garlic naan bread.

Mmm… Cheese and garlic naan bread.

And there we have it! Food and places in Mumbai, Delhi and Agra. Stay tuned for the next (and possibly last) installment of My Trip to India, the Mendhi celebration and the wedding! Thanks for reading!! 🙂

One thought on “My Trip to India 2: Things to Eat and See!

  1. Pingback: My Trip to India 3: Celebrations! | The Necessary Blog

Leave a Reply

