Celebrating a Momentous Occassion.

Celebrate with me? Because I finally passed my restricted license test!!! Haha, it’s a very big deal for me, because:

a. I failed the first time, and today was my second attempt;

b. I can finally save up the money I usually spend for driving lessons and;

c. Passing the test was a major goal of mine for this year (it’s been 5 years since I got my Learner’s license!)

I feel so accomplished. I’ve put that off for such a long time! And to think that I passed in very bad weather as well! Thank You God! So now I’m just chilling with these driving-themed songs… I’ve spent a lot of time hyping myself up, and visualizing, and applying all those cognitive behavioral methods, and relaxation techniques I’ve learned in class! Haha! Mindful driving, that was the one. I tried to stay as aware and at the same time,
calm as possible! I had internal monologues, and at one point, I had to stop myself from singing the “We did it!” song from Dora the Explorer when I managed to do a reverse parallel park!

Asides from Dora though, I had other artists lined up to either inspire me, or congratulate me when the day comes…and this was the day!!! I’m so happy!

First off, a song from a classic Filipino band, the Eraserheads, entitled Overdrive. It’s a humorous song because the whole time the singer is telling us that he wants to drive to all these places, and do all these things, and take everyone with him while he drives. And then by the end of the song, we find out that he’s begging for someone to please teach him how to drive, because he really wants to learn even if he doesn’t have a license or a car!

The first lines were stuck in my head:

“Magda-drive ako hanggang Baguio (I will drive until I reach Baguio)
Magda-drive ako hanggang Bicol (I will drive until I reach Bicol)
Magda-drive ako hanggang Batangas (I will drive until I reach Batanggas)
Tapos magsu-swimming do’n sa beach (and then I will go swimming in the beach)”

Next is another classic, this time from Incubus entitled… yep, you guessed it… Drive.

This song was really a motivational one for me… admittedly, I am very cheesy, but the lyrics really spoke to me!

“Sometimes I feel the fear of uncertainty stinging clear
And I cant help but ask myself how much I’ll let the fear take the wheel and steer
It’s driven me before, it seems to have a vague
Haunting mass appeal
Lately I’m beginning to find that I should be the one behind the wheel
Whatever tomorrow brings, I’ll be there
With open arms and open eyes yeah”ย 

I also loved listening to the song Fast Car by Tracy Chapman because of the story and the imagery of the lyrics. I loved how the car was somehow the central symbolic object of the story; of how she wants to escape from her current situation, and make a better future for herself and her partner, somewhere in the big, big, city. I also like how the lyrics were so passionate, I can almost imagine her point of view, driving through the dark night, and starting to see the bright lights of the metropolis. Also, note the sense of urgency.

“You got a fast car
Is it fast enough so we can fly away
We gotta make a decision
Leave tonight or live and die this way

So remember we were driving, driving in your car
Speed so fast I felt like I was drunk
City lights lay out before us
And your arm felt nice wrapped ’round my shoulder
I had a feeling that I belonged
I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone”

And finally, just to lighten things up a bit because right now I’m just so happy and thankful I could cry (forgive my shallowness, getting my own license is really something… it’s a milestone! haha!)

This video is an absolute winner. Haha. It helped me get through! Thank You God for helping me out today. Thank you to my driving instructors. Thank you to my boyfriend who patiently taught me and supported me!

I still feel so hyped up! Until the next post!

6 thoughts on “Celebrating a Momentous Occassion.

Leave a Reply

