It’s Hell Month, yo.

Ever since I was in high school, there was always that time when all my classmates would be bemoaning the arrival of the hell day/week/month. This typically means a period filled with intense work, stress, and a lot of comfort eating and late nights. When I started university, it meant stocking up on coffee and sweets.

Well, I’m there again. Hello, Hell Month.

I can’t believe my first year in Masters is about to come to an end. My entire class have gotten to know each other more, and I guess I can say that we’ve all grown to bond with each other (we can’t wait for the end-of-exams dinner!). We kind of have an idea of each others’ working style (i.e. cramming style), and we know that someone will always be there for us when we have questions unanswered, or if ever we are in need of a stress/panic buddy.

At this point, we’ve all determined our supervisors for next year’s thesis too. Some of us are able to get a start on our project because we enrolled in the special research topics course. If all goes well, my topic would hopefully be trying out an intervention with Paro (the seal robot), and children! Exciting times ahead.

We’ve got 2 major assignments to go (the third one is actually due tomorrow morning! But I’ve just finished proof-reading it for the second time, so I’m taking a break!), and then exams! I’m a bit stressed out at the thought that my mom would be away during exams (because I’m 24 and I still can’t cook!) Haha, in my defense, I was never forced to, and so I never had to learn. I can fry foods, but I still don’t know how to do those complicated meals. I wouldn’t mind trying though… but any other time except exam time would have been better!

Tomorrow, I am giving myself a short reprieve from the work (even if I am quite behind on readings…yikes!) because Louis and I had booked to see Wicked, the musical! I can’t wait! I love going to the Civic Theater, very nice and artsy! I once hugged Jason Mraz there!

And that’s all for now dear readers. If you’ve ever had a similar hell month, tell me about it! I’m always looking for distraction 🙂

2012-10-29 16.36.12

Leave a Reply

