Waiheke in Photos.

When the idea of going on a spontaneous trip to Waiheke Island first crossed my mind, I thought I was in for a good amount of rest and relaxation. I searched the internet for a good and affordable place to stay, and I came across Fossil Bay Lodge– a quiet little place that promised a refreshing and tranquil stay for a fair price. It was close to Oneroa village, and also to the beach, so I was sold.

Louis and I made our way mid-week. We got on a ferry and we said goodbye to Auckland for a couple of days. The weather wasn’t promising though, as it seemed like the three days that we’ve booked were exactly the days that promised heavy rain. Oh well, we’ll see what we can do, we thought.

P1050506 As we arrived in the island after a half-an-hour ferry ride, Louis spotted a shack that rented mountain bikes. I originally thought we could just travel by bus to our accommodation, but lo and behold, my boyfriend wanted to ride the bicycle!

And so we went… unprepared. Our bags were totally not bike-friendly. And it was my first time using the bike as a main method of transportation, so I was very nervous around the main roads. Luckily though, we reached Fossil Bay just before it started raining really hard.

P1050503

The first night was dedicated to rest, and finding a restaurant that delivered to our place, since we couldn’t really travel anywhere on our bikes while it was raining hard. We chanced upon this Italian restaurant and so we had fresh pasta and pizza bread filled with mozzarella for dinner. We had a lovely time sitting on the deck of our cottage, listening to music and eating our dinner while watching the rain fall on the gardens. We ended up playing Plants vs Zombies too before we called it a night.

Fossil Bay Lodge

Fossil Bay Lodge

The next morning was miraculously sunny! We set off biking for Oneroa village to explore and have brunch. We ate in this gorgeous cafe that was overlooking the Hauraki Gulf and which also served the best pancakes that we’ve ever had! So fluffy, and it really melts in your mouth! After brunch, we looked around, and I spent some time in a boutique bookshop, where in the owner collected all sorts of classics published by Penguin. I bought myself an old copy of The Taming of the Shrew, just because that particular piece of literature reminded me of high school!

Biking along Oneroa beach

Biking along Oneroa beach

P1050555

A miraculously sunny day!

Wai Kitchen for brunch!

Wai Kitchen for brunch!

I had coffee with poached eggs, colcannon, corned beef, avocado, sour cream.

I had coffee with poached eggs, colcannon, corned beef, avocado, sour cream.

Ready to eat- Louis had vanilla pancakes, , whipped golden syrup butter with farm cove bacon.

Ready to eat- Louis had vanilla pancakes, , whipped golden syrup butter with farm cove bacon.

The bookshop.

The bookshop.

P1050556

Louis led our bike-expedition afterwards, and we fell many times. I actually brought home a scar on my leg from when we were biking down a steep path towards the beach (I think I was trying to dodge dog poo!).

P1050580We biked along a scenic path called The Esplanade, until we reached Blackpool beach. We just sat under the shade for a while and took some photos, and then headed back to Oneroa village to buy some dinner to take home to the cottage.

P1050576

P1050575

Scenic path at the Esplanade

There is fun in watching your wheels splash against the ocean!

There is fun in watching your wheels splash against the ocean!

After dropping off our stuff in the cottage, we walked back to Oneroa beach for an afternoon swim. It was the perfect afternoon, and I’m so thankful that the sun decided to come out and play! The water was cool and refreshing, even the birds were taking dips with us and hunting for supper! We had to end our swim though when we noticed one of the dogs on the beach starting to pee on our belongings! I was pretty sure it would be a hilarious story some time in the future, but Louis was pretty annoyed that time, so we decided to head home and throw our bags in the laundry!

After winding down a bit and watching a movie (…the lodge has free wifi!), we made dinner- it was a deli-style meal, but filling nonetheless!

20131128_191804

We woke up to the third day completely sun-burnt. I forgot to put on any sun-lotion when we went off biking during the previous day, and so my arms and shoulders were really sore! After planning how we were going to ride back to the wharf (my bag was actually a giant shoulder bag, and so I had to improvise. Luckily the handles fit around my shoulders and I was able to carry it like a back-pack). We ate in another cafe in Oneroa village (I forgot the name!) before heading back. I had these beautifully stacked french toasts (the most artistic that I’ve seen) and Louis had the Kiwi Big breakfast (which is a big plate of sausages, bacon, hash brown, eggs, tomato and mushrooms). Yep, we had to fuel up for the bike ride back to base!

the artsy-fartsy, fruity french toasts!

the artsy-fartsy, fruity french toasts!

The Kiwi Big Breakfast!

The Kiwi Big Breakfast!

We reached the wharf in time, and I mentally congratulated myself for having survived bike-riding in main roads for the first time. All in all, it was a trip I was happy we made. I highly recommend Fossil Bay Lodge if you are looking for an affordable, quiet, and restful place to stay! I got more than what I bargained for- instead of just a sedentary and slow stay in the island, it got a little bit exciting because of the fact that we had the trusty mount bikes for companions! Honestly, it did stress me out a bit at first, but I felt so free and giddy when we were biking by the beach! I wouldn’t mind doing it again, but maybe with the proper bags! We’ll keep that in mind next time!

Thank you, Waiheke Island! Looking forward to visiting again soon!

20131128_200241

Waiheke Island is love!

Waiheke Island is love!

3 thoughts on “Waiheke in Photos.

    • Thanks! 😀 It was a bit tricky riding on sand, especially when we had to bike upwards to the roads… we did sink so we had to carry them up. And yeah, the book shop was fascinating, I even saw a copy of Charles Darwin’s Evolution of Species… I wanted to buy it but Louis said it wasn’t old enough, haha.

      And hey, maybe you can make a summer project out of learning how to bike! 😀

      • I actually have a large Evolution of Species illustrated book and haven’t read much of it hahah.

        I need someone to teach me and a bike to borrow though. Hmmm…maybe after I learn how to drive, I’ll get onto bikes haha.

Leave a Reply

