Thesis Diaries Day 189: Back from the dead!

Bottoms up!

Bottoms up!

So I’m back from Gore, and the good news is, everything worked out. I’m finished with the data collection part of my thesis! Woohoo! Although it didn’t turn out the way we hoped, my supervisor is at least happy with what we’ve got and she says that we can run with what I have. Which is good. I’m going to miss my participants though… honestly, it’s hard not to be attached to little old ladies who feed you warm pumpkin soup for lunch and give you a new pair of socks when the ones you’re wearing get soaked in the snow!

Apart from that, I’ve finished the first 80 hours of my clinical placements as well. 220 hours more to complete! In the meantime, I’m trying to write and get ahead of my chapters so I won’t have to worry too much about it when my next 3-week placement comes up.

We had a mini-celebration within our lab-group last night because we are awesome like that. I’m so amazed at how fast time has passed! Last night we were talking about how some of our friends think that we’re just doing uni, and how we’re lucky because we get free time, and we don’t have to do overtimes. Like hello. We do overtimes. We probably do more work than the average working person, and we don’t get paid for it! In fact, we paid to work these crazy hours!

Not that we’re complaining. I was away from the masters room for a while because of all the Gore trips and my placements, that it felt so good to be back. I love going to our weekly seminars, I can just feel my inspirations being boosted back to healthy levels again… like, this is why I’m here. I love learning, I love hearing about new research, and honestly, all the professors in our department are so charismatic and intelligent and inspiring, I feel so blessed to be part of it. We’ve all come a long way, and I’m amazed because we’re all so different, my classmates and I, but we’re all brought together because of our passion for psychology!

Well, I guess it’s great that after my mid-year breakdown (yep, there was crying and drama-ing, and ‘I don’t want to do this anymore!-ing’), things have started to calm down for a bit. Placements were quite busy, and it gave me a little glimpse into what a clinician’s life is like… so far… I can’t say yet which one I like better, research or clinical practice, but only time will tell.

I have 3 chapters to cram in the next 2 and a half weeks. Hope I make it! xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

